Hair fierceness!!

12 trends for 2012 – Part 4: ‘Color me Softly’ (Poll, vote!)

Hey! I hope your week is going great so far! Spring is coming, can you feel it? Before I dig into today’s trend, I want to share the result of the last poll about the Ombre effect.

I received overwhelming comments about the last post, everyone loved it! As of yesterday, 83% of you said  Yes! they would definitely try it, 3% said that they wouldn’t try it because they prefer all black/all brown and 14% feels that they are afraid it’s not going to turn out great.

Today’s topic is still about color. I decided to title it ‘Color me Softly’ because it’s all about natural & soft colors. Anything believable works; that means hues of browns and gold. Most black women’s skintone are usually more warm than cold so anything with gold accent would work, instead of silver accents for cold complexions.

About a month ago, I was feeling a bit bored with my hair being black and I suddenly decided to brighten my hair to a warm to light brown to eventually let it grow to create my ‘ombre’ for the summer months. My hubby didn’t approve of my urge to lighten my hair. He told me: Look at how long your hair is and now you want to spoil it! I know what color can do to already chemically processed hair and I told him: I’m a stylist!! LOL. Although it made me think, at that point, it was too late to change my mind because the process already started. I say warm to light brown because the front layers are a bit lighter than the back. I never color my hair everywhere for the simple fact that its way to risky in terms of breakage. Only the front of my hair is relaxed. The rest of my hair (75% I would say) is completely natural, from roots to ends. I haven’t relaxed my hair since august 2010 so it’s been 1 year and a half. Coming soon, a series on my Relaxed Growth hair journey as I’m getting ready to relax it completely again. Please note that all the pictures were taken inside or in the dark that’s why I put a few so you can see the color. It might actuallybe brighter than it looks on the pictures.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Tyra Banks would be a good example of this trend. Rarely you see her with an unatural hair color, she always stays true to her natural hair color and sometimes goes a little lighter to accentuate her green eyes.

Wowzers!! FABULOUS! That old glam look fits her so well. Her dark brown hair with a few ‘meches’ of gold. Yes it’s a lace but it looks perfect! The red lips, gold ‘meches’ and the false eyelashes really bring out her eyes.

 

This is Tyra’s go-to-look. You can clearly see 4 different tones of brown.

For the past 2 years or so, we’ve seen Tyra on America’s Top Model with this style withich is very natural and believable. Not a fan of her makeup but bangs really suit her.

 

Although Tyra is beautiful, this is an example of how color can go wrong if you don’t stay within natural perimeters which are dark brown to golden brown. Here we see Tyra with orange and red hair and I find it not believable at all! By now, I hope you understand what I mean by ‘Color me softly’ because Tyra is killing me softly! LOL. I rarely see black women with natural orange hair but brown hair? All the time! Sorry Tyra, your makeup looks great but your hair color is too harsh!

Before even considering to color your hair, make sure your hair is truly healthy and that you’re commited to really care for your hair. That means moisturising everyday, protein treatment every 6 weeks and deep conditionner every 2 weeks. Relaxers strip your hair from a few layers which makes your hair really dry which causes breakage overtime. Color will add stress to every strand of hair so keep that in mind. And remember the lighter you go, the more damage you’re doing to your hair so keep it soft and natural looking & go see a professional!

2 responses

  1. Smyrne

    I’ve never colored my natural hair I’m too scared to damage it. But I’ve already put on weaves with color and I loved it.

    March 7, 2012 at 11:46 am

    • Yes! I tell my clients with fragile hair that they have color extensions as an option! I should of put this as an answer in the poll!

      March 7, 2012 at 9:41 pm

Leave a Reply

