Hair fierceness!!

12 trends for 2012 – Part 3: The ‘Ombre’ effect

LOL! Laughing  Out Loud!

As I was analyzing the poll results of the first 2 trends of this series, I was laughing with myself. As of yesterday, the majority of you wouldn’t try the ‘wet look’ and 80% of you prefer to part their hair on the side instead of the center! You know what? I think I am going to end my research on the trends out there and go with what ‘I think’ will look good for 2012 on all of you! Well, to be fair with what is out there, I am going to do a mixture of both. I hope my plan works out & I hope it sounds fair to you. And thank you for voting; it helps tremendously and I get to know my client’s taste! Great looking hair is my passion 😀

The trend I want to introduce today is the ‘ombre’ effect. It’s not super new but we’ve seen it more and more since spring of 2011 and clients are now asking for it! Most of you probably seen it times and times again without knowing how it’s called. Ombre is basically a hair color technique that leaves hair darker at the roots but flows to a lighter color on the ends.

Let me illustrate with a few photos and I will leave my comments below each one.

 

I’m really loving it on Raven! I think the best trick is that the lightest color should be your complexion or just a little lighter! Notice that it is a 3 tone ombre. From dark brown to a chesnut brown to a warm gold. Fabulous!

 

 Like I told you earlier the ombre effect been around for  while now. The beautiful Aaliyah was rocking it back then very naturally. I always wonder how Aaliyah would have evolved in her music, her fashion and her hairstyles if she was still around today.

 

This is Ciara new hairstyle. You probably saw her picture on the blogs; she can’t be missed…I’m not feeling this particular ombre on Ciara and I will tell you why. Firstly, I believe the platinum blond looks too ‘harsh’, it could work but the blond would have to start around her mouth/chin area. Secondly, I don’t like the fact that it goes from very dark to very light. It could have worked if she had a goldish brown in the middle. Thirdly, I don’t like the fact that we can very well see that it’s lace front. I’m not a fan of lacefront for the simple reason that not a lot of women can pull it off with perfection. Fourthly, the bold red lips are too much in this case. She could have done a natural makeup since her hair is a statement. So this is an example of how ombre can go BAD!! Maybe next time Cici!

 

!Now this is more like it! I had to do Cici justice! This picture was taken last year and honestly, I’m feeling everything. The colors are warmer so it looks effortless, therefore more natural. She has a mix of blond, dark brown & gold tones in her ombre and it’s ‘believable’. Even the lace front wig looks better as she paired her cheetah print dress with a red lip. FAB!

 

Often, the ombre effect happens naturally. That mostly applies for white women as they color their hair more often than us. Basically, when their hair grows, you can gradually see the ombre effect appearing. It’s very pretty. Nothing can get more natural than that!

To have it done on your hair or on your extensions, I suggest going to see a professional because coloring black hair can be very tricky. It always turns out orange if you don’t know what you are doing. Furthermore, any chemical process damages hair so moisture & protein treatments are a must or else your hair will break or your extensions won’t last very long even if it’s a good quality! DJC virgin peruvian is a good option since it can be colored, for information or for a quote, you know where to find me! Stay tune for more blogs on my clients with the ombre technique. Don’t forget to vote!

4 responses

  1. Vee

    I’d love to see this on dark-skinned woman. It seems to me that this looks is mostly worn by white or light skinned women who can pull off going blond or close to it.

    March 1, 2012 at 12:16 pm

  2. Millesha

    Loving the blogs! Makes me think about my hair and what needs to be done to enhance my look.

    Great Job.

    March 10, 2012 at 11:27 am

Leave a Reply

