Hair fierceness!!

Breaking Point

ALTHOUGH I HATE KERI HILSON NEW OVERLY SEXUAL CONFIDENT ATTITUDE, I WAS PRETTY EXCITED ABOUT THIS NEW STYLE  SHE WAS ROCKING IN HER FIRST SINGLE VIDEO ‘BREAKING POINT’. FIERCE!!!!!!!! CHECK IT OUT!

After getting over my initial excitment & watching the video a few time, I realize that there’s 2 things  that makes her hair interesting: the cut & the combination of the dark brown and blond

1- THE CUT

Its basically a Short cut & a bob at the same time I would say. One side its super short & pulled back so the bob part starts after her ear. Long bangs falls on her forefead and eye to create a more sexy effect. Volume is also the key; it wouldnt look the same if it was flat! Often clients ask me for a celebrity hairstyle and are not willing to pay for a good quality hair  & for the right amount (quantity) to achieve the look. SMH dont blame your stylist!

2- THE COLORS

If you look closely, you will notice that she has 2 tones of blond, the honey blond & the platinum blond (27 & 613). I dont recommend ever doing this colors in your natural hair. Im not a colorist but I can guarantee you thats its impossible to get your hair that blond without using bleach & we all know what bleach does to your hair. The lighter it it, the stronger the chemical ingredients are, the greater the damage will be!

I often turn down clients who ask me to color their hair because their hair is not healthy or simply too thin. I wont do a chemical process on your hair if I know it will be breaking in a  month or so. The other thing I consider is your commitment, colored hair need more TLC, you must moisturise & deep conditionned a lot more then you’d normally do with permed hair alone. Therefore, if you’re the type of person who is not really devoted to your hair, color is not for you! In that case, a few tracks of weave is your best option and you can choose any color you want!!

Personnally, I like my bangs to be lighter than the rest of my hair which is 1b so I do color blocking (triangle shape) on my bangs once or twice per year to achieve this style which is a no 4 Superwave 16′ with no 30 & 27 highlights. Color blocking is often done in the front or crown so wherever you part your hair, you see the color. I dont think its necessary to color all my hair, just the part that will fall around my face.. Less color = Less damage! 

To conclude, take a look at the video, she’s rocking 2 styles, the one Im talking about comes around 1:30min. What she’s singing about should be THE female anthem! THERE’S A LIMIT TO MY LOVE :-p

One response

  1. Hi there! Someone in my Facebook group shared this website with us so I came to look it
    over. I’m definitely enjoying the information. I’m bookmarking and will be tweeting
    this to my followers! Excellent blog and fantastic style and design.

    July 2, 2013 at 5:35 am

Leave a Reply

